ASU offensive analyst Kevin Mawae selected to Pro Football HOF

Adjust Comment Print

Retired New England Patriots cornerback Ty Law is a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame's 2019 class, the NFL announced on Saturday evening.

Faneca had been a finalist for the third straight year, but the road for an interior offensive lineman isn't an easy one.

Gonzalez was traded to the Atlanta Falcons in 2009 after spending twelve seasons in Kansas City. He had 64 career interceptions, returning them for an National Football League record 1,590 yards and seven scores. Denver won three Super Bowl titles under Bowlen.

James also has recorded the most seasons in franchise history with at least 1,000 rushing yards as he's done it five times.

The time has finally come, Pat Bowlen and former cornerback, Champ Bailey, have been selected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Reed was one of four defensive backs who will be inducted on August 3 in Canton, Ohio. He led the league in interceptions on three occasions and was named the 2004 NFL Defensive Player of the Year. Robinson was drafted by both the Texans (AFL) and Detroit Lions (NFL) in 1960. This year's finalists included five defensive backs among the 15 modern-era finalists - former Broncos safety Steve Atwater, who made the cutdown from 15 finalists to 10 earlier Saturday morning, and John Lynch were the others.

Mawae, who played eight seasons with the Jets, also spent time with the Seahawks and Titans.

"From when I retired and found out they were going to have the Super Bowl here, I was like, well, that times out if I could be a first ballot - if I'm lucky enough to be a first ballot - it's going to be in Atlanta!" Gonzalez was voted to 14 Pro Bowls in his career and was an All-Pro seven times. He blocked for Hall of Fame running back Curtis Martin in all of his seven 1,000-yard seasons with the Jets.

Mawae also served as president of the NFL Players Association and helped broker a collective bargaining agreement to end a painful strike.

Like Bailey and Reed, Gonzalez is a member of the All-Decade team of the 2000's. Helped Jets to division title and championship game appearance in first season in NY, 1998 ...