To-Play Titanfall Battle Royale Game, Apex Legends, Will Release Tomorrow

Adjust Comment Print

Leaks have circulated throughout the weekend regarding a new game called Apex Legends; whatever it is, the developer will be sharing details during a stream at 8 AM PT / 11 AM ET / 4 PM GMT. Before the trailer dropped during the Super Bowl today, a Twitter account for the game was spotted and Geoff Keighley confirmed its existence.

According to a Kotaku report published on February 2, the game is based on the Titanfall intellectual property and will launch alongside its reveal on February 4 for PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and PC.


Respawn invited top streamers and esports pros across Battle Royale and other FPS games to playtest Apex Legends in Los Angeles this past week. The game is free-to-play and despite being set in the Titanfall universe, it won't feature any of the giant robots or titans as they're known from the Titanfall games. Servers will have a maximum of sixty players and you can play solo or on a team of three. A free to play game with a maximum map capacity of 60 players at any given time and one that will play like a mix of Fortnite, Overwatch and whatever else is trendy right now, while supporting itself with the usual vanity items for cash and loot boxes marketplace. These microtransactions will be similar to those featured in Overwatch so hopefully this won't turn into a pay to win game.

I'm not the biggest fan of Battle Royale modes, but Respawn is a talented team and if anyone is going to change my mind on the recent Battle Royale trend, it's probably them.


While we'll have to wait until Monday (if the rumors are accurate) to discover if a Titanfall 3 is still in the works, it seems quite likely it is.


Comments