Retired Packers S LeRoy Butler misses cut for Hall of Fame finalists

Adjust Comment Print

The Hall's Board of Selectors will meet February 2, in Atlanta, the day before Super Bowl LIII, to narrow the list of 15 finalists to a maximum of five enshrinees for the Class of 2019.

Finalists must receive at least 80 percent of the votes from the Hall of Fame's 48-member selection committee to be inducted. All-AFC five times, first-team All-Pro three straight times from 2003-2005 and chosen to the All-2000s team, the Patriots traded him with a year left on his contract to Oakland in September 2009, reaping Nate Solder from the draft pick they received.

James was a four-time Pro Bowler and named an All-Pro in 1999, his rookie season.

Also, G Alan Faneca, the longtime Steeler in his fourth year as a Finalist, helped solidify the Jets" 2008 and "09 O-lines, and first-time Finalist S Ed Reed, an 11-year Raven, played the second half of the 2013 season in the Green & White secondary.

Bowlen was announced in August as a contributor nominee for the class. Unlike Urlacher, who played for a franchise in the the Chicago Bears which is synonymous with defense and specifically middle linebackers, Thomas played for a team more associated with offense as his career began in the final years of the Dan Marino era in Miami.

ENGLEWOOD, Colo. - Just a year after the Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2018 included three enshrinees who had been eligible for the first time, the Class of '19 could turn the trick again. Flores coached for the Raiders from 1979-87, where he won two Super Bowls, and for the Seahawks from 1992-94. He ended his career with one season in the desert in 2010, starting all 16 games. He picked off 53 passes in his 15-year National Football League career.

Lynch has plenty of competition among this year's finalists as there are four other defensive backs on the list: Steve Atwater, Ed Reed, Champ Bailey and Ty Law.