Javier Baez misses out on 2018 Gold Glove award

Adjust Comment Print

Cardinals catcher Yadier Molina took home his ninth Gold Glove, unseating Giants backstop Buster Posey, while the Rockies' Nolan Arenado secured his sixth straight Gold Glove as an NL third baseman.

Unfortunately for Smoak and the Jays, though, Oakland's Matt Olson, who was spectacular almost all season long, was given the award, also edging out Mitch Moreland of the Boston Red Sox, who himself won a Gold Glove Award in 2016.

Atlanta added three Gold Gloves to its surprise NL East title this season.

Keuchel is the only pitcher in franchise history to win a Gold Glove Award and is just the fourth Astro at any position to win four-or-more Gold Glove Awards, joining second baseman Craig Biggio (1994-97), outfielder Cesar Cedeño (1972-76) and third baseman Doug Rader (1970-74). Also, Keith Hernandez will be inducted into the Rawlings Gold Glove Award Hall of Fame as part of the night's festivities. DJ LeMahieu of the Rockies won the Gold Glove at second base, and Nick Markakis of the Braves was the victor in right field. A total of eight outfielders for the Pirates have won a Gold Glove, with Marte being the last in 2015 and 2016. "It means a lot to me to win a Gold Glove".

In other Cubs news, Anthony Rizzo tied Freddy Freeman to get his second gold glove award.

The site said of Wong: "He excels going to his left handling batted balls in the hole between first and second, as good or better than anyone in baseball".