WhatsApp is changing it's 'delete for all' feature

Adjust Comment Print

However, WhatsApp had recently informed its users that their data and communications are secured with end-to-end encryption and nobody in between can read messages and listen to calls - not even WhatsApp itself.

Earlier, users were not able to download deleted specific files sent over WhatsApp.

Downloaded media shared on WhatsApp is saved in a separate folder on your phone.


WhatsApp has a new feature to its Android app which will allow you to redownload media after deletion.

WhatsApp, popular social and instant messaging application, has been working on adding new features to its WhatsApp Payments feature. But now the messaging app enables you to download such files as well.

Prior to the introduction of this feature, the media files which WhatsApp users used to delete from their smartphone's files after downloading, were not available for download again.


The company has rolled out this new upgrade for Android so far but it is expected to be launched for iOS soon. The chat app now does not delete the files from its servers even after it is downloaded and this allows user to recover it even if it has been deleted.

Earlier, when users deleted media files stored on the WhatsApp folder of their devices, they were no longer able to download those files again. Only if the file has been deleted in sdcard/WhatsApp/ and you have the message in the chat, you can successfully download it again. "So the imam would send WhatsApp messages to everybody", said environment minister Kwabena Frimpong-Boateng.

WhatsApp reportedly appears all set to change its "delete for all" feature again. However, it seems now that the app does not delete the media files from the server and re-download it if accidentally deleted.


After the Cambridge Analytica case came to light, WhatsApp has now clarified how Facebook actually handles its customer's payments data with its parent company Facebook, to keep things transparent.

Comments